Help us make Mixer better for everyone.

Adding mute function to chat

Many users want the function that can ignore someones unpleasant comments by themselvs. Is it possible to add the funcion like this at an early date?

162 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Ukyochi shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

11 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I’d really like to see this, as I keep running into commenters just being childish and spamming with immature comments. I am new to the platform and this alone has kept me from looking at new streams.

• NightmareJoker2 commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Important: A user that is blocked in this manner should be able to tell that this has happened, and if this is done by a moderator, be given a reason why at all times. Anything else is unacceptable.

And since it was mentioned, "some viewers who do not get along in chat [...] It's not fair to our viewers or streamers to suffer because viewers can't block other users":
    Why do you want these people, together, in your chat anyway? Let's be honest, what do they contribute, if all they are looking for is fighting with each other instead of putting their differences aside? (this would go far beyond a heated discussion and disagreement, which I would consider perfectly fine as long as nobody is insulting each other)

I would much prefer people not have the option unless they are very determined (say, by creating a chat client via the API and filtering user's messages via that) rather than having to question whether they can even see a message I wrote, merely because they disagree about something likely trivial, having to worry about their well being, because they don't respond, simply because they are too trigger happy with their block button.